German giants Vettel, Schumacher team up to win 'Race of Champions'

London, Tue, 18 Dec 2012 ANI

London, Dec 18(ANI): Red Bull ace Sebastian Vettel teamed up with the man he replaced as Germany's motor sport maestro, Michael Schumacher, to win the Race of Champions in Thailand.

The pair took the Nations Cup title on a specially laid-out figure-of-eight track in Bangkok's Rajamangala stadium.

The annual Race of Champions sees stars from all forms of motor sport compete against each other in a variety of hot cars including Audi and Lamborghini GTs.

Team Germany won the Nations Cup for the sixth year running, beating the French squad of Lotus F1 ace Romain Grosjean and rally star Sebastien Ogier in the final.

"Even Michael hasn't managed six titles in a row before, so this is something special," the Sun quoted Vettel, as saying.

"We all love coming to this event as it is very special. It's a privilege and an honour to race with these guys. There's one thing that connects us all, which is racing," he added.

The Team Great Britain duo of ex-F1 winner David Coulthard and touring car hero Andy Priaulx were eliminated in the quarterfinals after both were penalised for touching barriers.

Grosjean, notorious for a string of crashes in F1, went on to win the individual event, perhaps because there were no other cars to hit due to the event's single-lane format. (ANI)

Read More: United Nations Volunteers | French Guiana | French Polynesia | Germany | Thailand | Rajkot Race Course Road | B.p.lane | Chennai Race Course | Ma Race Course | Udagamandalam Race Course | Great Eastern Hotel | Danesh Sk.lane | Race Cource Para S.o. | Bharadah | Bibiganj | Bhittabari | Thiraniganj | Awadpur | Barsoi | David Beckham

Singham Returns movie released Shri Narendra Modi unfurling the Tricolour flag India Independence Day LFW WF 2014 Friday Funda with Rahul Mishra Models wearing Shree Raj Mahal Jewelers Jewelery Gaurav Gupta and Shraddha Kapoor at Shree Raj Mahal Jewellers India Couture Week 2014
Social bookmark this page

Post comments:
Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Your Phone :
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image