Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Search: Look for:   Last 1 Month   Last 6 Months   All time

BCCI to present awards to cricketers on Nov. 21

Mumbai , Wed, 31 Oct 2012 ANI

Mumbai, Oct.31 (ANI): The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will present annual awards to top performing cricketers for the year 2011-12 next month.

India's top performers in international and domestic cricket during the twelve-month period from 1 October 2011 to 30 September 2012 will be feted at the ceremony.

Virat Kohli will be presented the Polly Umrigar Award, for being India's top international cricketer of 2011-12. The award comprises a trophy and cheque for '. 5 lakhs. The previous winners of the award are Sachin Tendulkar (2006-07 and 2009-10), Virender Sehwag (2007-08), Gautam Gambhir (2008-09) and Rahul Dravid (2010-11).

V.V.S. Laxman, who announced his retirement from international cricket in August 2012, will be felicitated at the ceremony. Sachin Tendulkar will also be honoured for completing a century of international centuries.

Another feature of the ceremony will be the posthumous felicitation of seven legends of Indian cricket - Vijay Merchant, Vijay Manjrekar, Dattu Phadkar, Vinoo Mankad, Ghulam Ahmed, M.L. Jaisimha and Dilip Sardesai. The next-of-kin of each of these individuals will receive a trophy and cheque for '. 15 lakhs.

The Col. C.K. Nayudu Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Sunil Gavaskar, former India captain. The award comprises a trophy, citation and cheque for '. 25 lakhs.

The previous winners of the award are as follows:

1994 - Lala Amarnath

1995 - Syed Mushtaq Ali

1996 - Capt. Vijay Hazare

1997 - K.N. Prabhu

1998 - P. R. Umrigar

1999 - Col. Hemachandra Adhikari

2000 - Subhash Gupte

2001 - Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi

2002 - Bhausaheb Nimbalkar

2003 - Chandrakant Borde

2004 - B.S. Bedi, B. Chandrasekhar, EAS Prasanna, S. Venkataraghvan

2007 - Nariman Contractor

2008 - Gundappa Viswanath

2009 - Mohinder Amarnath

2010 - Salim Durani

2011 - Ajit Wadekar

The Lala Amarnath Award for best all-rounder in the Ranji Trophy will go to Karnataka cricketer Stuart Binny this year. Binny is the son of former Indian Test player and now national selector Roger Binny. A similar award will be given to Bengal cricketer Laxmi Rattan Shukla for his performances in one-dayers.

The Madhavrao Scindia Award for the highest scorer in ranji Trophy will go this year to Rajasthan cricketer Robin Bist and to Ashok Dinda of Bengal for being the top bowler in the domestic competition.

The M.A. Chidambaram Trophy for the best Under-16 cricketer will go to Mohammad Saif of Uttar Pradesh, who scored

747 runs @ 106.71 in six matches, inclusive of four centuries and two half-centuries, while the Under-19 award will go to Maharashtra cricketer Vijay Zol.

The Annual BCCI Awards Ceremony will be held on Wednesday, 21 November 2012, at the Chambers Terrace, Taj Mahal Palace and Tower, Mumbai, said Sanjay Jagdale, Hon. Secretary, BCCI. (ANI)

King of Bhutan, the Bhutan Queen and Crown Prince meeting the PM Modi
PM Narendra Modi welcomes the King of Bhutan
PM Modi paying tributes at the portrait of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel
People take part in the Run For Unity on the Rashtriya Ekta Diwas
PM Modi flagging off the Run For Unity on the Rashtriya Ekta Diwas
Post comments:
Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Your Phone :
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image




Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Careers | Privacy Policy | Feedback | About Us | Contact Us | | Latest News
Copyright © 2015 NEWS TRACK India All rights reserved.