Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Search: Look for:   Last 1 Month   Last 6 Months   All time

Miffed Speaker refers MPs name to Privileges Committee

New Delhi, Fri, 02 May 2008 Vikash Ranjan

Miffed over the immoral and reckless behaviour and deeds of some of the Parliamentarians, Lok Sabha Speaker Somnath Chatterjee has referred names of as many as 32 MPs to the Privileges Committee of Parliament Thursday for their unruly conduct in the House. All MPs belong to the different Opposition parties.

The action has been taken against all those MPs for indulging in continuous sloganeering over inflation following repeated verbal warnings by the Chair on two occasions on April 24 and the one which perhaps acted as the last straw was the unruly act of Brajesh Mishra of BSP preventing Union Minister Ram Vilas Paswan from making a statement in the House.

Slogan shouting and defying the chair are considered non-parliamentary actions and the privileges committee, after going though all aspects of the case, could recommend punishment against the erring MPs or then let them off with a warning.

Acting under Rule 349 that empowers the Speaker to refer the case of disorderly conduct of any members to the Privileges Committee, Somnath Chatterjee referred the matter to the Privileges Committee under Rule 227 of the ‘Rules of Procedure and Conduct of Business in Lok Sabha for examination, investigations, and report.

Chatterjee’s pleas to MPs to behave and respect the House are often ignored. His suggestion of introducing “no work, no pay” plans for legislators have been refuted by various political parties. The disruption on Wednesday during Zero Hour eventually prompted him to take tough action against them. This is for the first time that Chatterjee has taken such a serious note against MPs.

For the second time within a week, such a tough action against Parliamentarians has been taken. First it was on April 24 when the Chairman Hamid Ansari ordered AIADMK leader V Maitreyan to leave the House for defying the Chair and continuing with his demand for the response of Prime Minister on the Baalu’s issue. And now, the Speaker has taken such a serious view of unruly scenes in the House.

Sources in the Lok Sabha secretariat say that the Privileges Committee would examine the MPs’ conduct and suggest some suitable action. The Committee normally completes its work within a short span of time. But, the chances are very less for the report to come this session, which ends on May 9.

The disciplinary action taken against the 32 MPs belong to different Opposition parties of which 22 belong to the BJP, 4 to the Shiromani Akali Dal, 2 to BJD and one each from BSP and JD (S).

Shahnawaz Hussain, P S Gadhavi, M A Kharabela Swain, Kishan Singh Sangwan and Kiran Maheswari are among the senior lawmakers belonging to BJP and Chandrakant Khaire, Kalpana Ramesh Narhire of Shiv Sena, Rattan Singh Ajnala and Sukhdeo Singh Libra of Shiromani Akali Dal and Tathagatha Satpathy of BJD and Brajesh Pathak (BSP) faces the heat and whose names have been referred to the privileges committee for "examination, investigation and report"

King of Bhutan, the Bhutan Queen and Crown Prince meeting the PM Modi
PM Narendra Modi welcomes the King of Bhutan
PM Modi paying tributes at the portrait of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel
People take part in the Run For Unity on the Rashtriya Ekta Diwas
PM Modi flagging off the Run For Unity on the Rashtriya Ekta Diwas
Post comments:
Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Your Phone :
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image




Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Careers | Privacy Policy | Feedback | About Us | Contact Us | | Latest News
Copyright © 2015 NEWS TRACK India All rights reserved.