Search: Look for:   Last 1 Month   Last 6 Months   All time

IPL play-offs' proceeds to be distributed among former cricketers

Tamil Nadu,Sports, Tue, 03 Apr 2012 IANS

Chennai, April 3 (IANS) Indian cricket board president N.Srinivasan Tuesday promised to help 185 Indian cricketers with the proceeds from the four play-off stage matches of the Indian Premier League (IPL).


During the opening ceremony of the IPL, Srinivasan said the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will be distributing the proceeds among 185 international and domestic cricketers.


"The proceeds from the play-off matches will be distributed among former cricketers, who have represented India at the international level and also among domestic players. The BCCI will give a one time assistance to those cricketers and around 185 Indian cricketers will benefit. It is a small gesture from the BCCI to all those who have done yoeman's service to Indian cricket," he said.


Standing alongside the nine IPL team captains, Srinivasan said it was a proud moment for him.


"It is a proud moment for me to stand here on this stage with nine captains. IPL has gone from strength to strength and has become one of the premier tournament of the world," he said.


Srinivasan also said that IPL has helped the BCCI to develop infrastructure for the sport all over the country.


"We distribute proceeds from the IPL to all the state associations to build infrastructure. BCCI spends substantial amount on helping to develop the game at the grass roots," he said.


Manohar Lal being presented with a memento
Manoj Tiwari BJP Relief meets the family members of late Ankit Sharma
Haryana CM Manohar Lal congratulate former Deputy PM Lal Krishna Advani on his 92nd birthday
King of Bhutan, the Bhutan Queen and Crown Prince meeting the PM Modi
PM Narendra Modi welcomes the King of Bhutan
Post comments:
Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Your Phone :
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image




Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Careers | Privacy Policy | Feedback | About Us | Contact Us | | Latest News
Copyright © 2015 NEWS TRACK India All rights reserved.