Search: Look for:   Last 1 Month   Last 6 Months   All time
Home :: World

111 awardees honoured for excellence in agricultural research

Tue, 01 Jan 2008 ANI

New Delhi, July 16 (ANI): Union Minister for Agriculture, Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution Sharad Pawar on Wednesday honoured 111 awardees under 12 different categories for the excellence in agricultural research at ICAR award ceremony, 2008.


The list of awardees comprises four institutions, 103 scientists, three farmers and one journalist. Out of 103 scientists, there are 13 women scientists.


The best institution award has gone to the Central Marine Fisheries Research Institute (CMFRI), Kochi. Another institution that has won the award is the Vivekanand Parvatiya Krishi Anusandhan Sansthan (VPKAS) Almora, Uttarakhand. Among agricultural universities, Acharya N.G. Ranga Agricultural University (ANGRAU) Rajendranagar, Hyderabad has won the best institution award.


Chaudhary Devi Lal Outstanding AICRP award has been bagged by All India Coordinated Research Project on Tuber Crops, Kerala with its headquarters at Thiruvananthapuram.


This AICRP has developed varieties of various tuber crops and thus alleviated problems of tuber crop growers.


Eighteen Jawaharlal Nehru awards for outstanding Ph.D. theses are given, out of which four have gone to young women scientists. There are two awardees for Panjabrao Deshmukh Women Agricultural Scientist awards.


The Vasantrao Naik Award for Outstanding Research and Application in Dryland Farming Systems has gone to a Team of scientists at the Water Technology Centre for Eastern Region at Bhubaneswar for a technological approach to development and management of an ideal and replicable watershead in a sub-humid region.


The Team Research award has been bagged by seven research teams in the areas of crop improvement, natural resources, engineering and technology, horticulture, fisheries, animal production and health and social sciences.


The Jagjivan Ram Kisan Puruskar in crop production has been awarded to two farmers, one from Andhra Pradesh and the other from Maharashtra. The N.G. Ranga Award for Diversified Agriculture has been awarded to a farmer from Andhra Pradesh.


The Fakhruddin Ali Ahmad Award for Outstanding Agricultural Research in Tribal Areas has been bagged by Scientists from NEH Region and Andaman and Nicobar Islands. The research work in the NEH region pertains to Mithun and that in Andaman and Nicobar Islands to enhancing productivity of home gardens.


The Chaudhary Charan Singh Award for Excellence in Journalism in Agricultural Research and Development has been awarded to Dr. Mahendra Madhup, Editor, Sharad Krishi (Hindi).


The authors of five technical books in Hindi, each on crop science, natural resource management, horticulture, animal health and animal production have been selected for Dr. Rajendra Prasad Puruskar.


Seven teachers have been selected for the Bharat Ratna Dr. C. Subramaniam award in the fields of crop science, resource management, engineering and food technology, veterinary and animal sciences and social sciences.


Minister of State for Agriculture Kantilal Bhuria was also present in Award ceremony. (ANI)


Read More: Almora | Ali

Manohar Lal being presented with a memento
Manoj Tiwari BJP Relief meets the family members of late Ankit Sharma
Haryana CM Manohar Lal congratulate former Deputy PM Lal Krishna Advani on his 92nd birthday
King of Bhutan, the Bhutan Queen and Crown Prince meeting the PM Modi
PM Narendra Modi welcomes the King of Bhutan
Post comments:
Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Your Phone :
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image




Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Careers | Privacy Policy | Feedback | About Us | Contact Us | | Latest News
Copyright © 2015 NEWS TRACK India All rights reserved.