Search: Look for:   Last 1 Month   Last 6 Months   All time

Nabam Tuki to be new Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister

Itanagar, Tue, 01 Nov 2011 ANI

Itanagar (Arunachal Pradesh), Nov.1 (ANI): Nabam Tuki will be the new chief minister of Arunachal Pradesh, replacing Jarbom Gamlin, who resigned from office yesterday.


On Tuesday, the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) in Arunachal Pradesh unanimously elected Tuki as their leader in the state assembly.


Tuki's election signals the end of the weeks-long political drama that culminated in the resignation of Gamlin.


The decision to choose Tuki was taken by the Congress high command.


The swearing-in of Tuki, who led the revolt against Gamlin's leadership, as the new Chief Minister is likely to take place later in the day, according to Raj Bhavan sources.


On Monday, Gamlin had in his resignation letter recommended the names of Power (Electrical) Minister Setong Sena and Finance Minister Kalikho Pul for the high post, according to official sources.


Gamlin had handed over his resignation to the state Governor General (retired) Joginder Jaswant Singh on Monday afternoon.


The Congress Legislative Party reached their decision to elect Tuki as their leader after two days of intense deliberation.


Gamlin had on Saturday offered to resign from his post amid dissidence in the state"s ruling Congress on the leadership issue.


He had taken over as chief minister on May 5 following the death of Chief Minister Dorjee Khandu in a helicopter crash.


Earlier, 40 of the 42 Congress legislators in Arunachal Pradesh have authorised All India Congress Committee president Sonia Gandhi to appoint a new Congress Legislature Party leader in the state.


A one-point resolution was read out to newsmen by AICC observer and Union Power Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde.


Party MLAs held a meeting at which Shinde and other two observers, former DoNER minister B K Handique and party"s general secretary and state unit in-charge Dhaniram Shandil.


The other two party MLAs are the Speaker and Wangki Lowang. Lowang did not attend the meeting.


A majority of Congress legislators led by Tuki had earlier demanded a change in leadership in the government headed by Jarbom Gamlin.


A majority of Congress MLAs demanded Gamlin"s resignation for his alleged "authoritarian rule".


Besides the Congress, the Trinamool Congress has five members, NCP-five, People"s Party of Arunachal four, BJP-three besides a lone Independent in the 60-member House. The Trinamool Congress and the NCP provide outside support to the Congress government. (ANI)


Manohar Lal being presented with a memento
Manoj Tiwari BJP Relief meets the family members of late Ankit Sharma
Haryana CM Manohar Lal congratulate former Deputy PM Lal Krishna Advani on his 92nd birthday
King of Bhutan, the Bhutan Queen and Crown Prince meeting the PM Modi
PM Narendra Modi welcomes the King of Bhutan
Post comments:
Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Your Phone :
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image




Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Careers | Privacy Policy | Feedback | About Us | Contact Us | | Latest News
Copyright © 2015 NEWS TRACK India All rights reserved.