Search: Look for:   Last 1 Month   Last 6 Months   All time

President Patil confers 58th National Film Awards

New Delhi , Fri, 09 Sep 2011 ANI

New Delhi, Sep 9(ANI): President Pratibha Devisingh Patil on Friday gave away the 58th National Film Awards in a function held at New Delhi's Vigyan Bhawan.


Union Information and Broadcasting Minister Ambika Soni was also present on the occasion.


The Dadasaheb Phalke Award was conferred to veteran filmmaker K. Balachander.


The award is conferred by the Central government for outstanding contribution to the growth and development of Indian Cinema.


The award consists of a Swarn Kamal, a cash prize of Rs.10 lakhs and a shawl.


The award is given on the recommendations of a committee of eminent persons.


Four child artists-Harsh Mayar for the film "I am Kalam", Shantanu Ranganekar for the film "Champions", Machindra Gadekar for the film "Champions" and Vivek Chabukswar for the film "Baboo Band Baaja"-were awarded the National Award.


K. Dhanush, for the film 'Aadukalam' (Tamil), and Salim Kumar, for the film 'Adaminte Makan Abu' (Malayalam), shared the prestigious Best Actor award.


Mitalee Jagtap Varadkar, for the film 'Baboo Band Baaja' (Marathi), Saranya Ponvannan, for the film 'Thenmerkku Paruvakkatru' (Tamil), were awarded the Rajat Kamal.


For the Category of Best Feature Film, 'Adaminte Makan Abu' (Malayalam) film produced by Shri Salim Ahamad and Ashraf Bedi, were given the Swarn Kamal and Rs.2,50,000/- each.


Indira Gandhi Award for Best Debut Film of a Director was given to 'Baboo Band Baaja' (Marathi), directed by Rajesh Pinjani, Produced by Neeta Jadhav. The winners were awarded Swarn Kamal and Rs.1,25,000/- each.


The award for Best Popular Film providing Wholesome Entertainment was given to 'Dabangg' (Hindi), produced by Arbaaz Khan, Malaika Arora Khan and Dhilin Mehta, and directed by Abhinav Singh Kashyap.


The Nargis Dutt Award for Best Feature Film on National Integration was given to 'Moner Manush'.


Moner Manush is an Indo-Bangladesh collaboration venture. One of the producers of the film, Habibur Rehman, is from Bangladesh.


The award for the Best Hindi Film was given to 'Do Dooni Chaar'.


The award for the Best Book on Cinema was given to Vijaya Mulay.


The film 'Ishqiya' won four awards: Best Audiography - location sound recordist to Kaamod Kharade, Best Audiography - re-recordist of the final mixed track to Debajit Changmai, Best Music Direction - music director to Vishal Bhardwaj and Best Female Playback Singer - to Rekha Bhardwaj. (ANI)


Read More: Delhi | Musi | Fri | Champ | Mon | Raje | Jagta

Manohar Lal being presented with a memento
Manoj Tiwari BJP Relief meets the family members of late Ankit Sharma
Haryana CM Manohar Lal congratulate former Deputy PM Lal Krishna Advani on his 92nd birthday
King of Bhutan, the Bhutan Queen and Crown Prince meeting the PM Modi
PM Narendra Modi welcomes the King of Bhutan
Post comments:
Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Your Phone :
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image




Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Careers | Privacy Policy | Feedback | About Us | Contact Us | | Latest News
Copyright © 2015 NEWS TRACK India All rights reserved.