Search: Look for:   Last 1 Month   Last 6 Months   All time

National Communal Harmony Awards presented

New Delhi , Fri, 29 Jul 2011 ANI

New Delhi, July 29 (ANI): National Communal Harmony Awards for 2009 and 2010 were presented by Vice President M. Hamid Ansari at a function here today.


Dr. Mohd. Hanif Khan Shastri received the award in the individual category for the year 2009.


Dr Shastri is a Sanskrit scholar and has authored several books including Geeta Aur Quran men Samanjasya, Ved aur Quran se Mahamantra, and Gayatri aur Surah Fatiha.


He has dedicatedly worked to promote communal harmony through his books and talks.


Acharya Lokesh Munni received the award in the individual category for the year 2010.


Muni is a social worker and orator who has contributed towards communal harmony through his oratory and writings.


He is the chief functionary of Ahimsa Vishwa Bharati, a Delhi-based voluntary organization, which aims at promoting non-violence, peace and communal harmony.


Muni has been working to deescalate communal tension. He participated in a 1500 km walk from Haryana to Gujarat to promote communal harmony.


The Centre for Human Rights and Social Welfare received the award in the organisation category for the year 2009.


The General Secretary of the organisation, Saroj Khan, took the award.


The Centre, registered in 1976, is working for communal harmony, human rights and rehabilitation of needy and deprived persons.


Its activities include organising inter-faith dialogue, programmes of Milan on the occasions of Eid, Holi, Diwali and Christmas, communal harmony rallies, kavi sammelans, mushairas, etc. to promote communal harmony and national integration.


The Centre has campaigned against terrorism and has been organising programmes to sensitize people on the rights of the homeless persons.


The organisation actively participated in the rehabilitation work of the victims of bomb blasts that occurred in Jaipur in May 2008.


The National Foundation for Communal Harmony was set up in 1992 as an autonomous organization to promote communal harmony and national integration by undertaking and encouraging activities which promote belief in the principles of non-violence and strengthen the bonds of unity and affinity amongst different groups and communities.


In order to honour persons/organizations who have made outstanding contributions in the field, the Foundation has instituted two national awards to be conferred annually, one for an individual and another for an organization. In addition to a citation, the award carries a cash award of fiver lakh rupees and two lakh rupees for the organization and individual categories respectively. (ANI)


Read More: Delhi | Ansar | Vishwa | Hami

Manohar Lal being presented with a memento
Manoj Tiwari BJP Relief meets the family members of late Ankit Sharma
Haryana CM Manohar Lal congratulate former Deputy PM Lal Krishna Advani on his 92nd birthday
King of Bhutan, the Bhutan Queen and Crown Prince meeting the PM Modi
PM Narendra Modi welcomes the King of Bhutan
Post comments:
Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Your Phone :
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image




Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Careers | Privacy Policy | Feedback | About Us | Contact Us | | Latest News
Copyright © 2015 NEWS TRACK India All rights reserved.