Search: Look for:   Last 1 Month   Last 6 Months   All time

Assam polls: 12 per cent vote cast in first two hours

Guwahati , Mon, 04 Apr 2011 ANI

Guwahati, Apr 4 (ANI): Twelve per cent of the electorate cast their votes in the first two hours of polling in 62 Assembly constituencies of Assam today.


There were reports of malfunctioning of electronic voting machines in some constituencies, which were immediately replaced, and voting continued uninterrupted


The voting, which started at 7 a.m. will continue till 3 p.m.


Four hundred and eighty five candidates, including 38 women, are in the fray for this phase. Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) have fielded candidates in all the 62 constituencies, while Asom Gana Parishad is contesting 51 constituencies.


There are 157 independent candidates in the fray for this phase.


Among the prominent Congress leaders whose fate would be decided on Monday are incumbent Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi from Titabor, Power Minister Pradyut Bordoloi (Margherita), Excise Minister Gautam Roy (Katlicherra), Culture Minister Bharat Narah (Dhakuakhana), Khor Sing Ingti (Howraghat) and Works Minister Ajanta Neog (Golaghat).


Prominent AGP leaders who are in the fray in the first phase are Brindabon Goswami (Tezpur), Pradip Hazarika (Amguri) and Padma Hazarika (Sootea).


Monday's polling will also determine the fate of BJP leaders Ranjit Dutta (Bihali), Ranjan Das (Karimganj North), Parimal Sukalabaidya (Dholai), Kamakhya Tasa (Margherita) and Prasanta Phukan (Dibrugarh).


Elaborate security arrangements have been made to ensure free and fair polls.


A total of 2,033 booths have been identified as hyper sensitive, 2,985 sensitive and 817 hamlets as vulnerable.


Altogether 346 companies of central paramilitary forces have been deployed. 65 to 75 per cent of polling stations will be covered by central paramilitary forces and the rest by police, micro-observers and video-cameras.


The second phase of elections will be held on April 11. Results are due on May 13. (ANI)


Read More: North Goa | Padma | Hazari | Mon | BJP | Congress

Manohar Lal being presented with a memento
Manoj Tiwari BJP Relief meets the family members of late Ankit Sharma
Haryana CM Manohar Lal congratulate former Deputy PM Lal Krishna Advani on his 92nd birthday
King of Bhutan, the Bhutan Queen and Crown Prince meeting the PM Modi
PM Narendra Modi welcomes the King of Bhutan
Post comments:
Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Your Phone :
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image




Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Careers | Privacy Policy | Feedback | About Us | Contact Us | | Latest News
Copyright © 2015 NEWS TRACK India All rights reserved.