Search: Look for:   Last 1 Month   Last 6 Months   All time

NRAI declares shooting squad for London Olympic 2012

New Delhi, Mon, 20 Feb 2012 NI Wire

The National Rifle Association of India (NRAI) on 19th February declared the 11-member squad comprising men and women for London Summer Olympic Games 2012, scheduled from 27th July. The selectors have put the Athens Olympic Silver Medallist Rajyavardhan Singh Rathod in the back seat giving the preference to Heena Sidhu because of her continuous excellent performance since last few months.

The No.1 shooter in 50-M prone category Joydeep Karmakar has got place in exchange quota with Army man Hari Om Singh in the same quota. Heena Sidhu got the selection from Imran Hasan Khan's quota in 10-M women category.

The selection was made on Sunday meeting held at Rudrapur, Uttrakhand.

Giving the description about the selection, NRAI senior advisor Baljeet Singh Sethi said, "There were four-five names that came up for discussion including Rathore, Anisa and Anjali Bhagwat but in the end the selection committee's decision was unanimous. We chose Heena because we are confident that she will win a medal."

Heena and Karmakar have continuously performed well and their scores were overall higher to others.

"The selection was done on the basis of the points every shooter had. Heena had an upper hand over others," said Sethi.

Responding over the news of her selection 22-years old Heena, who is also a BDS student chirped, "I had been partly expecting it, but it has still come as a pleasant surprise."

On the other, Baljit Singh over the chance of Rajyavardhan Singh said, "I can't say for sure that (Rathore's) chances are over. We have to wait till March 12, which is the last date for exchanging quotas."

Bejing Olympic Gold medallist Abhinav Bindra and Delhi Commonwealth Games double gold medallist Gagan Narang have already secured their place in 11-member squad.

The team is:



10m: Abhinav Bindra, Gagan Narang.

Prone: Gagan Narang, Joydeep Karmakar,

3-Position: Sanjeev Rajput, Gagan Narang.


Vijay Kumar (25m rapid fire).


Trap: Manavjit Singh Sandhu.

Double Trap: Ronjan Sodhi.



10m: Annuraj Singh, Heena Sidhu.

Sport pistol: Rahi Sarnobat.


Trap: Shagun Chowdhary.

Manohar Lal being presented with a memento
Manoj Tiwari BJP Relief meets the family members of late Ankit Sharma
Haryana CM Manohar Lal congratulate former Deputy PM Lal Krishna Advani on his 92nd birthday
King of Bhutan, the Bhutan Queen and Crown Prince meeting the PM Modi
PM Narendra Modi welcomes the King of Bhutan
Post comments:
Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Your Phone :
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image




Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Careers | Privacy Policy | Feedback | About Us | Contact Us | | Latest News
Copyright © 2015 NEWS TRACK India All rights reserved.