Search: Look for:   Last 1 Month   Last 6 Months   All time

UP Election 2012: polling for the 2nd phase on Saturday

Lucknow, Fri, 10 Feb 2012 NI Wire

The second phase of voting for assembly election 2012 will kick on tomorrow morning amid tight security. The campaigning for 59 seats in nine districts concluded Thursday evening following the norms of the election law.

The voting will kick off from 7 a.m. at 20425 polling booths set up at 12995 polling centres, an electoral officer informed to media.

Over 1.92-crore voters including 1.07 crore men and 87.38 lakh women will decided the fate of 1,098 candidates who are in the fray for 59 seats spread in the eastern part of Uttar Pradesh, official said.

The districts where second phase of election will be go on includes Sant Kabir Nagar, Maharajganj, Gorakhpur, Kushinagar, Deoria, Azamgarh, Mau, Ballia and Ghazipur.

The voting will be exercised tomorrow on 59 seats including 12 reserved seats -Dhanghata, Maharajganj, Khajani, Bansgaon, Ramkola, Salempur, Lalganj, Mehnagar, Muhammadabad- Gohna, Belthara Road, Jakhanian and Saidpur - for Scheduled caste candidates.

The general seats where polling will go on includes Menhdawal, Khalilabad, Pharenda, Nautanwa, Siswa, Paniyra, Caimpiyarganj, Pipraich, Gorakhpur Urban, Gorakhpur Rural, Sahajanwa, Chauri-Chaura, Chillupar, Khadda, Padrauna, Tamkuhi Raj, Fazilnagar, Kushinagar, Hata, Rudrapur, Deoria, Pathardeva, Rampur Karkhana, Bhatpar Rani, Barhaj, Atrauliya, Gopalpur, Sagri, Mubarakpur, Azamgarh, Nizamabad, Phoolpur-Pawai, Didarganj, Madhuban, Ghosi, Mau, Rasara, Sikanderpur, Phephana, Ballia Nagar, Bansdih, Bairia, Ghazipur, Jangipur, Zahoorabad, Mohammadabad, and Zamania.

Vidhan Sabha speaker Sukhdeo Rajbhar, Revenue Minister Phagu Chauhan, BSP state president and cabinet minister Swami Prasad Maurya, BJP state president Surya Pratap Shahi, Deputy Speaker and leader of SP Ambika Chaudhary, former BSP leader and now NCP candidate Fateh Bahadur Singh, Naresh Yadav, son of MP Governor Ram Naresh Yadav, Yogendra Yadav, nephew of MP Ramakant Yadav, Aman Tripathi, son of SP MLA Amarmani Tripathi, who is facing jail term in poetess Madhumita murder case, and tainted MLA Mukhtar Ansari (from Kaumi Ekta Dal) and 31 MLAs and 24 former ministers are major names who are contesting in this fray.

In 2007, BSP had won 29 seats while SP secured 20, BJP six and Congress and independents won each two seats.

Manohar Lal being presented with a memento
Manoj Tiwari BJP Relief meets the family members of late Ankit Sharma
Haryana CM Manohar Lal congratulate former Deputy PM Lal Krishna Advani on his 92nd birthday
King of Bhutan, the Bhutan Queen and Crown Prince meeting the PM Modi
PM Narendra Modi welcomes the King of Bhutan
Post comments:
Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Your Phone :
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image




Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Careers | Privacy Policy | Feedback | About Us | Contact Us | | Latest News
Copyright © 2015 NEWS TRACK India All rights reserved.