Search: Look for:   Last 1 Month   Last 6 Months   All time

YSR Congress Party romps home in Kovur constituency

Hyderabad , Wed, 21 Mar 2012 ANI

Hyderabad, Mar 21 (ANI): YSR Congress President, YS Jagan Mohan Reddy, on Wednesday described the Kovur result as a resolute verdict given by the people against the opportunistic and unscrupulous politics.


Thanking the people of Kovur for giving a decisive mandate, YS Jagan, who is on Odarpu Yatra in Guntur, said that people will stand by the party that upkeeps values and credibility in politics and this concept was reflected in the Kovur results.


"YSRC stands for credibility and value-based politics which were accepted by the people," he said.


The parties that have scant respect for people's problems and to not care for values were shown their place by the people's court. This is the first election the party has faced outside Kadapa and the result has silenced the detractors who unleashed false propaganda that the YSR charisma does not work outside Kadapa.


The party office along with Kovur has witnessed a jubilant atmosphere as the counting began and the margin swelled with every passing round. Though some leaders tried to attribute the victory in 2004 and 2009 assembly elections to Congress Party and Sonia Gandhi to sideline YSR, Kovur figures will enlighten them as the ruling party had to be content with the third place.


Describing the Kovur victory as a pointer to the next round of by-election, YSR Congress said the conspiracy of Congress and TDP to retain a two-party system in the State has backfired as the two parties vied for minor placings in all the seven constituencies, for which results were announced today.


"People have boycotted the ruling and opposition parties and gave a decisive mandate against Congress and TDP. The two parties would have faced further humiliation had the resignations of 17 rebels been accepted earlier and elections were held to 24 seats," YSRC leaders told reporters here.


"The results will be the same in the ensuing 18 assembly and one parliament seats and YSR Congress will emerge as the force to reckon with. In the final 2014 battle, we will form the government in the State and will also play a key role in national politics,"said party official spokesperson, Bajireddy Govardhan along with former MLAs Srikanth Reddy, Aamarnadh Reddy and Gurnath Reddy and other leaders .


A negative wave against Congress and TDP is visible in the by-poll and their money power and muscle power along with misuse of official machinery yielded no results. People have watched how the ruling and opposition parties have ganged up on various issues, inside and outside the Assembly, ignoring farmers' welfare, input subsidy, drinking water, drought relief and other pressing issues, they said.


The result is a slap in the face of Congress as Anam brothers and others went about saying that they won on a Congress ticket and with Sonia Gandhi's charisma and not that of YSR, but now the party has been relegated to minor placings.


"Today, it is YSR and his welfare policies that has given our candidate a good majority though TDP President N Chandrababu Naidu toured the constituency thrice and Congress ministers camped at Kovur and the two parties resorted to unfair means," they said.


When asked why the majority of was not up to the expectations, they said, "Compared to previous elections, the majority is very good. Last time N Prasanna Kumar Reddy won by a majority of over 7,000 votes on a TDP ticket while this time the difference is over 24,000 which is a positive sign of the popularity of YSR Congress. While the margin was thin in a straight contest, it swelled three-fold in a triangular contest."


In all the seven constituencies, Congress and TDP were relegated to second, third and even fourth place and the trend is going to continue, they said, at least now the two parties should stop levelling baseless allegations against YS Jagan Mohan Reddy.


Summary of the by-polls is that Congress lost Kollapur to TRS and Mahbubnagar to BJP while TDP conceded three seats to its rivals. Kovur went to YSRC,Nagrkurnool has gone to NagamJarnardhan Reddy and Adilabad to TRS. Kamaredy and Station Ghanpur were retained by TRS. (ANI)


Manohar Lal being presented with a memento
Manoj Tiwari BJP Relief meets the family members of late Ankit Sharma
Haryana CM Manohar Lal congratulate former Deputy PM Lal Krishna Advani on his 92nd birthday
King of Bhutan, the Bhutan Queen and Crown Prince meeting the PM Modi
PM Narendra Modi welcomes the King of Bhutan
Post comments:
Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Your Phone :
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image




Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Careers | Privacy Policy | Feedback | About Us | Contact Us | | Latest News
Copyright © 2015 NEWS TRACK India All rights reserved.