Search: Look for:   Last 1 Month   Last 6 Months   All time

Akhilesh Yadav to become Uttar Pradesh's youngest Chief Minister

Lucknow, Sat, 10 Mar 2012 ANI

Lucknow, Mar 10 (ANI): Samajwadi Party (SP) leader Akhilesh Yadav, who played a major role for his party's victory in the recently concluded assembly elections, has been chosen to become the youngest Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh.


Akhilesh Yadav's name was proposed by senior party leader Azam Khan and was supported by the members of the Samajwadi Party at the legislative board meeting here, which was attended by his father and former Chief Minister Mulayam Singh Yadav.


Yadav, 38, currently MP from Kannauj, has been credited for the party's election victory.


He has won three Lok Sabha elections since 2000.


Earlier, facing heat over incessant incidents of violence following the results of the polls, Akhilesh Yadav promised strict action against unruly supporters in Uttar Pradesh.


"We want to make it clear that the Samajwadi Party is completely committed to ensure prevalence of law and order and any shortcoming will not be tolerated in this regard. This is also the responsibility of the district officials to deal strictly with unsocial elements. Some elements frustrated by their outfit's defeat are trying to taint the image of the Samajwadi Party and hence undertake such illegal activities. We condemn such people and want the system of law and order to take its course," said Yadav.


He further said that any SP activists found guilty of indulging in unlawful behaviour would be dealt with accordingly.


"I want to express myself through your medium, that even if an activist of the Samajwadi Party would mock law and order, which has just been reiterated by our leader, strict action will be taken against such people. Even if it means to expel them from the party, we will do so." said Yadav.


Samajwadi Party won an absolute majority by winning 224 seats in the 403-member assembly. The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) was left far behind with 80 seats. The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won 47 seats.


Congress won 28 seats. Congress ally RLD won 9 seats, the NCP one, while others have won 14 seats. (ANI)


Manohar Lal being presented with a memento
Manoj Tiwari BJP Relief meets the family members of late Ankit Sharma
Haryana CM Manohar Lal congratulate former Deputy PM Lal Krishna Advani on his 92nd birthday
King of Bhutan, the Bhutan Queen and Crown Prince meeting the PM Modi
PM Narendra Modi welcomes the King of Bhutan
Post comments:
Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Your Phone :
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image




Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Careers | Privacy Policy | Feedback | About Us | Contact Us | | Latest News
Copyright © 2015 NEWS TRACK India All rights reserved.