Search: Look for:   Last 1 Month   Last 6 Months   All time

Oz keeper Haddin handed international lifeline, included for ODI tour to Windies

Melbourne, Wed, 29 Feb 2012 ANI

Melbourne, Feb.29 (ANI): Veteran Australian wicketkeeper Brad Haddin was on Wednesday handed an international lifeline with the selectors naming him in Australia's one-day squad to tour the West Indies.


Despite being deposed as the short-form glove-man by spirited Victorian Matthew Wade, 24, during an initially messy selection process, both will be going for the whole tour.


According to the Sydney Morning Herald, the selectors insist that Haddin, 34, remains the Test keeper despite his recent poor form at the state and national levels.


The national selectors are keen to retain Haddin's experience around the squad and want a reserve keeper on tour given the difficulties of flying players to the West Indies at short notice.


Pace bowlers Ryan Harris and Mitchell Starc have been overlooked for Australia's one-day and Twenty20 cricket tour of the West Indies.


Spinner Nathan Lyon and Tasmanian batsman George Bailey are additions for the tour not involved in the current squad, which will contest the tri-series finals starting on Sunday.


The return of James Pattinson from injury meant there was no room for Harris or youngster Starc in the tour squads, although the latter will travel with them as a "development opportunity".


West Australian batsman Shaun Marsh missed selection for both squads, while evergreen spinner Brad Hogg was also overlooked.


However, national selector John Inverarity said Hogg remained in strong contention for the World Twenty20 tournament later in the year when three spinners are likely to go.


Australia plays five one-dayers against the Windies from March 16-25, with T20 games on March 27 and 30.


ODI squad: Michael Clarke (captain), Shane Watson (vice-captain), George Bailey, Dan Christian, Xavier Doherty, Peter Forrest, Brad Haddin, Ben Hilfenhaus, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Brett Lee, Nathan Lyon, Clint McKay, James Pattinson, Matthew Wade and David Warner.


T20 squad: George Bailey (captain), Shane Watson (vice-captain), Dan Christian, Xavier Doherty, Peter Forrest, David Hussey, Michael Hussey, Brett Lee, Nathan Lyon, Clint McKay, James Pattinson, Matthew Wade and David Warner. (ANI)


Manohar Lal being presented with a memento
Manoj Tiwari BJP Relief meets the family members of late Ankit Sharma
Haryana CM Manohar Lal congratulate former Deputy PM Lal Krishna Advani on his 92nd birthday
King of Bhutan, the Bhutan Queen and Crown Prince meeting the PM Modi
PM Narendra Modi welcomes the King of Bhutan
Post comments:
Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Your Phone :
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image




Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Careers | Privacy Policy | Feedback | About Us | Contact Us | | Latest News
Copyright © 2015 NEWS TRACK India All rights reserved.