Search: Look for:   Last 1 Month   Last 6 Months   All time

Pratibha Patil to present national tourism awards on Feb. 29

New Delhi, Mon, 27 Feb 2012 ANI

New Delhi, Feb 27 (ANI): President Pratibha Devisingh Patil will give away the national tourism awards in recognition of achievements in the travel, tourism and hospitality sectors here on Wednesday.


The Ministry of Tourism has introduced three new categories of awards from this year as apart of National Tourism Awards.


In an attempt to encourage States and Union Territories to put into place effective mechanisms for maintaining cleanliness at tourist destinations, a new Category of award for "The Best State: Campaign Clean India" has been introduced.


In addition two new categories of awards for the "Best Heritage City" and "Best Heritage Walk" have also been introduced.


The Ministry of Tourism, Government of India annually presents National Tourism Awards to various segments of the travel, tourism and hospitality industry.


These awards are presented to State Governments / Union Territories, classified hotels, heritage hotels, approved travel agents, tour operators and tourist transport operators, individuals and other private organizations in recognition of their performance in their respective fields and also to encourage healthy competition with an aim to promote tourism.


Tourism is dynamic industry and every year, the categories of awards are reviewed with new categories being added to recognize excellence in diverse fields, in accordance with the requirements of changing times.


In the year 2010, a new category of Awards was introduced for "Best Civic Management of a Tourist Destination in India". This award was introduced to encourage eco-friendly practices by various civic bodies in cities / towns / villages for the maintenance and upkeep of tourist sites / parks, etc.


Amongst the important awards conferred each year are the awards for the Best States / UTS for the Comprehensive Development of Tourism; Inbound Tour Operators and Travel Agents judged on the basis of their Foreign Exchange Earnings; Domestic Tour Operators and Tourist Transport Operators with high turnovers; Hotels in different categories, including Heritage Hotels, Chefs; Best Rural Tourism Project; Best Responsible Tourism Project; Innovative andUnique Tourism Projects; Best Airport, Railway Station and Convention Centres; Best Heritage City and Heritage Walk; Best Overseas. Tour Operators for India from different Regions; Best Tourism Film, Website/Portal, Publicity Material; amongst others. (ANI)


Manohar Lal being presented with a memento
Manoj Tiwari BJP Relief meets the family members of late Ankit Sharma
Haryana CM Manohar Lal congratulate former Deputy PM Lal Krishna Advani on his 92nd birthday
King of Bhutan, the Bhutan Queen and Crown Prince meeting the PM Modi
PM Narendra Modi welcomes the King of Bhutan
Post comments:
Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Your Phone :
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image




Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Careers | Privacy Policy | Feedback | About Us | Contact Us | | Latest News
Copyright © 2015 NEWS TRACK India All rights reserved.