Search: Look for:   Last 1 Month   Last 6 Months   All time

Manipur registers 77 percent turnout in polls

Imphal , Sat, 28 Jan 2012 ANI

Imphal, Jan 28 (ANI): Around 77 per cent of the electorate exercised their franchise in Manipur assembly elections, which concluded on Saturday.


As per the latest reports, counting of votes is still going on in few districts of the state.


Barring a few incidents of violence the voting, overall, remained peaceful.


Earlier in the day, five persons including three polling officials, a woman and a security personnel were killed when a bomb exploded at the booths in Tamti area of Manipur's Chandel District.


Around 350 companies of security personnel including 270 central para military force personnel had been deployed besides the state armed police in the state polls. A helicopter was also kept on standby for emergencies.


Altogether 279 candidates are in the fray for the 60-member House with the Chief Minister (Thoubal), Forest minister and senior Congress leader Th Debendra (Jiribam) and Congress nominee and Speaker I Hemochandra Singh (Shingjamei) being the key contenders.


Others in the fray are former chief minister and NCP chief Radhabinod Koijam (Thangmeiband), senior Manipur people's party (MPP) leader and former deputy chief minister L Chandramani Singh (Patsoi), senior MPP leader and opposition leader O Joy (Langthabal), MPP president and former minister Nimaichand Luwang (Wangkhem) besides deputy chairman of the state Planning Board Bijoy Koijam (Thongju). (ANI)


Manohar Lal being presented with a memento
Manoj Tiwari BJP Relief meets the family members of late Ankit Sharma
Haryana CM Manohar Lal congratulate former Deputy PM Lal Krishna Advani on his 92nd birthday
King of Bhutan, the Bhutan Queen and Crown Prince meeting the PM Modi
PM Narendra Modi welcomes the King of Bhutan
Post comments:
Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Your Phone :
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image




Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Careers | Privacy Policy | Feedback | About Us | Contact Us | | Latest News
Copyright © 2015 NEWS TRACK India All rights reserved.