Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Search: Look for:   Last 1 Month   Last 6 Months   All time

Voting begins amid tight security in Manipur

Imphal, Sat, 28 Jan 2012 ANI

Imphal, Jan.28 (ANI): Voting is taking place across nine districts of Manipur amid tight security. The elections are being held to select representatives for 60 assembly constituencies.


Voters lined up on Saturday to cast their votes in 2,357 polling stations


An electorate of 17,40,576, including 8,82,236 woman voters, are eligible to exercise their franchise to choose their representatives from among 279 candidates in the 10th assembly polls.


A total of 12,967 polling personnel have been deployed to conduct the elections which began at 7 a.m. and would end at 4 p.m.


Chief Minister O Ibobi Singh cast his vote at a polling station in Khangabok of Thoubal district, officials said.


Around 350 companies of security personnel, including 270 central para military forces, have been deployed, besides the state armed police.


Prominent candidates whose fate would be sealed on Saturday include the Chief Minister who is contesting from Thoubal constituency, former vice chancellor of Manipur university Ng Bijoy (Khurai) and Forest Minister Th Debendra (Jiribam).


Manipur has nine districts - Imphal East, Imphal West, Bishnnupur and Thoubal (all in valley) and Churachandpur, Ukhrul, Senapati, Tamenglong and Chandel in the hills.


Security forces are keeping a tab on the situation in the state, where blasts have taken place in the past few days, amid reports that insurgent groups might target some candidates. (ANI)


King of Bhutan, the Bhutan Queen and Crown Prince meeting the PM Modi
PM Narendra Modi welcomes the King of Bhutan
PM Modi paying tributes at the portrait of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel
People take part in the Run For Unity on the Rashtriya Ekta Diwas
PM Modi flagging off the Run For Unity on the Rashtriya Ekta Diwas
Post comments:
Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Your Phone :
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image




Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Careers | Privacy Policy | Feedback | About Us | Contact Us | | Latest News
Copyright © 2015 NEWS TRACK India All rights reserved.