Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Search: Look for:   Last 1 Month   Last 6 Months   All time

Chennai the new Super King for IPL3

New Delhi, Mon, 26 Apr 2010 NI Wire

Mahendra Singh Dhoni led Chennai Super Kings became the new champion for the third season of Indian Premier League (IPL-3) defeating season's favourite Mumbai Indians led by Sachin Tendulkar by 22 runs, at the DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai on Sunday.

Mumbai Indians that played like a champion in this season, could not sustain its momentum in the most crucial time and left behind to hit the final knell on the championship title.

Chennai Super Kings, the only team to enter in the Semi-Final of all IPLs had reached the final second time by defeating last year's runner-up Anil Kumble led Bangalore Royal Challengers. It had reached in the finals in the first season of IPL (IPL-2008) where it was the first runner-up team.

But this time, Super Kings made no mistake and grab the victory from the season's hot favourite team. Chennai that begun a cautious start turned aggressively after the 12th over when it's captain MS Dhoni came on to the crease. First Dhoni and then Suresh Raina – the Man of the Match changed the gear.

Chennai hammered 50 runs in just three over between the 14th to 17th over and collected 100 runs in the last eight overs to set a consolidate target of 169 runs for Mumbai Indians. Raina made the fastest fifty of any IPL final.

In reply, Mumbai begun a sluggish start and it's first run came in the 8th ball of the inning. The going on choke in making runs mounted huge pressure on Mumbai Indians and resulted the loss of opener Shikhar Dhawan as a first wicket on the 4th ball of the first over of Doug Bollinger. It was the 10th ball of the inning and Mumbai was struggling at 1 for 1.

All-rounder Abhishek Nayar came on first fall who could not free his arm, until 8th over when Shadab Bashir Jakati came into attack. But it was too late, which forced the injured Tendukar to free his arms too.

The quick fall of two wickets – Nayar and Harbhajan Singh – who was upgraded on the 4th place – increased the pressure. Wicket keeper Ambati Rayudu eased the pressure by hitting few boundaries and sixes, but fall of Sachin Tendulkar and quick fall of in-form batsman SS Tewari restored the pressure.

Veteran batsman Jean Paul Duminy also could not do much and caught out by Shadab Jakati in the deep midwicket on the delivery of spin king Muttiah Muralitharan.

Season's most expensive player Kieron Pollard did some blasts on the last couple of penultimate overs but it was not enough to beat the victory target. His dismissal ended all the hopes of Mumbai supporters. Mumbai Indians could manage only 146 runs for 9 in 20 overs.

Though Mumbai Indians lost the match, but won some awards that was the consolation for it in the heartbreaking day. Captain Sachin Tendulkar won the Man of the Series and best batsman awards while S S Tewari was chosen the best Under-23 player of IPL – 3. The team got a runner-up prize of Rs.3-crore.

The Champion Chennai Super King won the Championship Trophy, a winner prize of Rs.6-crore and Golden bats to all the players. Suresh Raina became Man of the Final.

Besides it, Pragyan Ojha of Deccan Charges was selected as the best bowler of the tournament.

The scores:

Chennai Super Kings: M. Vijay c Tiwary b Fernando 26 (19b, 1x4, 2x6), M. Hayden c Rayudu b Pollard 17 (31b, 1x4, 1x6), S. Raina (not out) 57 (35b, 3x4, 3x6), S. Badrinath c Malinga b Fernando 14 (11b, 2x4), M. Dhoni c Fernando b Zaheer 22 (15b, 2x4, 1x6), A. Morkel run out 15 (6b, 1x4, 1x6), S. Aniruddha (not out) 6 (3b, 1x4), Extras (lb-3, w-8) 11; Total (for five in 20 overs) 168.

Fall of wickets: 1-44, 2-47, 3-67, 4-139, 5-157.

Mumbai Indians bowling: Harbhajan 4-0-30-0, Malinga 4-0-33-0, Zaheer 4-0-34-1, Fernando 4-0-23-2, Pollard 4-0-45-1.

Mumbai Indians: S. Dhawan c Dhoni b Bollinger 0 (8b), S. Tendulkar c Vijay b Jakati 48 (45b, 7x4), A. Nayar run out 27 (26b, 1x4, 2x6), Harbhajan lbw b Raina 1 (2b), A. Rayudu run out 21 (14b, 1x4, 1x6), S. Tiwary c Raina b Jakati 0 (2b), J.P. Duminy c Jakati b Muralitharan 6 (7b), K. Pollard c Hayden b Muralitharan 27 (10b, 3x4, 2x6), Z. Khan run out 1 (3b), L. Malinga (not out) 1 (1b), D. Fernando (not out) 2 (1b), Extras (lb-1, nb-6, w-5) 12; Total (for nine in 20 overs) 146.

Fall of wickets: 1-1, 2-67, 3-73, 4-99, 5-100, 6-114, 7-142, 8-142, 9-143

Chennai Super Kings bowling: Ashwin 4-1-24-0, Bollinger 4-0-31-1, Morkel 3-0-20-1, Muraltharan 4-0-17-1, Jakati 3-0-26-2, Raina 2-0-21-1.

Read More: Bangalore Rural

King of Bhutan, the Bhutan Queen and Crown Prince meeting the PM Modi
PM Narendra Modi welcomes the King of Bhutan
PM Modi paying tributes at the portrait of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel
People take part in the Run For Unity on the Rashtriya Ekta Diwas
PM Modi flagging off the Run For Unity on the Rashtriya Ekta Diwas
Post comments:
Your Name (*) :
Your Email :
Your Phone :
Your Comment (*):
  Reload Image




Excellent Hair Fall Treatment
Careers | Privacy Policy | Feedback | About Us | Contact Us | | Latest News
Copyright © 2015 NEWS TRACK India All rights reserved.